Bright Side Of The Moon

Un sitio como otro cualquiera, sencillo, musical y algo paranoide... lo normal.

viernes, noviembre 21, 2008


The Best of the BBC Radio Sessions 68-72


For Ziggy Stardust fans it is CD2 which is of most interest as it contains seventeen tracks that David Bowie recorded at various BBC studios in 1972 as Ziggy Stardust. To date these have only been available to fans as part of the fore-mentioned NMC DAVID BOWIE BBC SESSIONS 1969-1972 (sampler) and illegally in various bootlegs.

All but one song of the Ziggy Stardust BBC sessions appears in this new EMI release. The missing song is Bowie's cover of Lou Reed's "White Light - White Heat" from from Sounds of the Seventies (Broadcast: 19 June 1972). To see where these songs were recorded and their history see Ziggy Stardust on Radio, TV, Film & Video.

Following the release it was quickly discovered by fans that the two supposedly different versions of "Ziggy Stardust" on CD2 (Tracks 4 and 12) were in fact the very same track. Presumably someone at EMI made a mistake and duplicated the track of "Ziggy Stardust" from May 1972 leaving the earlier version from January 1972 missing.

EMI then stated that anybody who purchased a copy of BOWIE AT THE BEEB (2000) with this mistake was able to claim a free single-track CD replacement containing the missing version of "Ziggy Stardust". Current pressings of the BBC set now contain the correct versions.

TEMPORARILY BULKED out with a third disc of the recent BBC Radio Theatre show that effectively reprised his headlining Glastonbury set, this 2-CD compilation collects Bowie's earliest sessions from various Top Gear, In Concert, Johnnie Walker and Sounds Of The Seventies shows recorded between May 1968 and May 1972, tracking his progress from Anthony Newley wannabe to the brink of Aladdin Sane, offering a handy aural frieze of his surprisingly arduous climb to superstardom, culminating aptly in the Ziggy-killing Rock 'N' Roll Suicide.

It's interesting to recall Bowie's callow beginnings. The poppy organ and ambitious arrangements of In The Heat Of The Morning and London Bye Ta-Ta are redolent of the Swinging '60s, as are lyrical references to "the ragged soldier catching butterflies". The prissy strings of Karma Man further expose the earnest nature of the hippy years, while solo acoustic versions of God Knows I'm Good and Jacques Brel's Port Of Amsterdam capture the future progenitor of glam in a rather ill-fitting Euro-Dylanesque mode.

Other Space Oddity material finds him in transition: the urgent vocal style and rough, spindly guitar work makes Unwashed And Somewhat Slightly Dazed sound like Dylan with a Diddley beat, which wins the praise of laid-back John Peel. He is rewarded with a balls-aching eight minutes of wordy Cygnet Committee, complete with flamenco flourishes and "I want to live" drama queen finale.

A 1970 Sunday Show performance of The Width Of A Circle captures a pivotal moment in Bowie's early career: the first public appearance of Mick Ronson. It's not an exceptional performance. But he gets into his stride on the disc two which, apart from pulsating covers of I'm Waiting For The Man and White Light/White Heat, focuses almost entirely on Bowie's last few rungs up the stardom ladder with Hunky Dory and Ziggy Stardust, including two virtually indistinguishable takes each of Hang On To Yourself and Ziggy itself. The quality of both performances and recordings is exceptional for the time, with elegant versions of Starman and Oh! You Pretty Things affirming the confident new direction of Bowie's pop sensibility, and muscular renditions of Suffragette City, Queen Bitch and Changes. It wouldn't all be downhill from here on, but Bowie had clearly reached a rarefied plateau from which further ascent would prove difficult.

Track List:
Disc 1:
01. In The Heat Of The Morning [0:03:02.50]
02. London Bye Ta Ta [0:02:36.22]
03. Karma Man [0:03:00.08]
04. Silly Boy Blue [0:06:08.12]
05. Let Me Sleep Beside You [0:03:17.58]
06. Janine [0:03:24.60]
07. Amsterdam [0:03:18.12]
08. God Knows I'm Good [0:03:35.73]
09. The Width Of A Circle [0:05:21.02]
10. Unwashed And Somewhat Slightly Dazed [0:05:07.45]
11. Cygnet Committee [0:09:07.35]
12. Memory Of A Free Festival [0:03:18.68]
13. Wild Eyed Boy From Freecloud [0:05:55.30]
14. Bombers [0:03:19.45]
15. Looking For A Friend [0:03:33.72]
16. Almost Grown [0:02:43.73]
17. Kooks [0:03:32.62]
18. It Ain't Easy [0:02:51.65]

Disc 2:
01. The Supermen [0:02:51.60]
02. Eight Line Poem [0:02:56.50]
03. Hang On To Yourself [0:02:50.02]
04. Ziggy Stardust [0:03:26.10]
05. Queen Bitch [0:02:59.25]
06. I'm Waiting For The Man [0:05:24.38]
07. Five Years [0:04:24.30]
08. White Light - White Heat [0:03:48.02]
09. Moonage Daydream [0:04:58.63]
10. Hang On To Yourself [0:02:50.17]
11. Suffragette City [0:03:28.35]
12. Ziggy Stardust [0:03:24.23]
13. Starman [0:04:05.22]
14. Space Oddity [0:04:16.40]
15. Changes [0:03:29.63]
16. Oh! You Pretty Things [0:02:57.67]
17. Andy Warhol [0:03:14.70]
18. Lady Stardust [0:03:20.73]
19. Rock 'n' Roll Suicide [0:03:08.60]



Publicar un comentario

Links to this post:

Crear un enlace

<< Home